Financial Releases for Designated Agencies

Kampala Capital City Authority

Uganda Road Fund (URF) is a body Corporate established by an Act of Parliament of 2008. Its overall objective is to ensure that all public roads are maintained at all times through provision of adequate and stable financing for routine and periodic road maintenance, undertaken by Designate Agencies (DAs). Currently, the Fund finances 164 Designated/Funded agencies that include 2 Authorities (UNRA and KCCA), 121 districts and 41 municipalities that manage Uganda’s public roads network. The sub-counties and town councils are the sub-agencies of the DLGs which consist of 1,129 sub-countries and 214 town councils. District Local Governments, the Local Governments Act, 1997 mandates local governments to construct, rehabilitate, and maintain roads within their jurisdictions. Local Governments include districts and municipalities.

KCCA was established under the KCCA Act, 2010 with the mandate of planning, constructing and maintenance of city roads as one of its mandates. City roads service the city transport needs of the country and are within the city boundaries. They are made of 1,207km.